7 Things I Learned from My Three Year Old Blog

As of this month, The DJ Stone Crazy Spot is three years old.

Photo by Victoria Rosario

Photo by Victoria Rosario

These are seven things I learned from blogging on WordPress.com.

1. You don’t have to write 1500 word blogs. I really don’t know how that started. Yet, some of my more popular blogs definitely did not have 1500 words. Some had even less than 300 words. Some blogs contained a few words and a kick-ass meme I found on Facebook.

2. Booty pics attract more traffic than the written word. During the blogs first few months, Google sent more traffic my way because of booty pics. As the blogs main focus was music and laptop DJing, booty pics still brought the most traffic. To this day, it still does. Instead of reading about why a song sucks, many viewers prefer looking for big booty MILFs or big ass white girls. Currently, it’s Miley Cyrus pussy shots and Angela Basset’s booty.

3. Calling someone out in your blog does more psychological damage than you realize. Sometimes, after my blogs aims something nasty at someone, I  receive epic comments taking personal shots at me and my DJ skills. One coward decided to send me an e-mail taking potshots at me. After unfriending me on Facebook, another person posted my blog about her on Facebook, as she called me a loser DJ.

Why all this overreacting? The blog struck a raw nerve bordering on truth. If it wasn’t true, why write epic comments and aim nasty shots at me and DJ skills? In my lifetime, guilty folks are the only ones I know who behave this way.

4. You’re more likely to get pimp-slapped by a 300 pound transvestite versus getting sued for using copyrighted photos. I’m not condoning using copyrighted material. Still, as far as getting sued for doing it? That’s highly unlikely. First, you might receive a request to either take the photo down or give the photographer credit. Second, the photographer might tell your web host. Third, if you’re small fry, they know you don’t have any freakin’ money to sue for. For the record, I’m not a lawyer. Despite all this, you still might get sued for using a copyrighted pic. Still, that rarely happens to small fry bloggers.

5. Readers like lists. Yep, the blog experts had it right. Creating list blogs attract traffic. Still make sure it’s a subject folks will want to read. If folks no longer care about Jay-Z’s conflict with his sister-in-law, don’t you still write ten reasons why Jay-Z should have smacked her. If it’s a subject folks don’t care about, don’t go writing a list about it.

6. Current trends attracts plenty traffic. When Justin Bieber was arrested, I dug up memes making fun of his arrest. The blog attracted plenty of attention. When some idiots used Martin Luther King Jr, in twerking flyers, that blog not only gained a lot attention, a more popular website linked to it. The reason I always post pics of Miley Cyrus is because I know folks will come looking for them, especially if it’s something she did recently.

7. Making fun of white people attracts traffic. (Controversy attracts traffic.) I once noticed people searching my blogs wanting to know what music to play for white people. I knew the subject was controversial. That’s why I wrote it. I wrote it over a year ago. To this day, that blog still attracts traffic.

After three years on this blog, that’s what I learned.

Explore posts in the same categories: Lists

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “7 Things I Learned from My Three Year Old Blog”

  1. Renard Moreau Says:

    [ Smiles ] I agree that controversy attracts attention. However, I would never make fun of white people.

  2. max Says:

    Hey mate, I think Ive been reading your posts on various sites now since 04 or 05. Those “Me and my Automoblie” blogs which were essentially insightful observations on everyday life.

    And my opinion on the point above is don’t not call an asshole, an asshole, just because they’re white. I think that’s half the problem right there.

    You’re your own man and definitely never look for anyones approval, that’s why you’re a champ Pat. Don’t change bro.


Leave a Reply

