A Second DJ Gig at Orlando’s Lil Indies

Last Friday, I performed a DJ gig at Lil Indies in Orlando, Florida.

a guy in a bar wearing a goatee

After performing here before, tonight was my second time.

What I didn’t mention last time was Lil Indies being non-smoking.

Fram on top of a pole

Advantages and disadvantages exist in that.  The advantage? Clean air and no second-hand smoke.   The disadvantage?  Almost everyone outside smoking as you play to an almost empty bar.  This didn’t happen all night.  Yet, it can be annoying.

Friends showed up.

Stephanie Porta: One of Orlando’s up and coming person to watch.  She’s the director of Organize Now, a progressive organization fighting against injustice.

a brown haired woman

Trevor Fraser: a long time friend and local poet.

guy wearing blue epcot t-shirt

Crystal Buchanan: He family owns Best Used Books in Longwood.

woman in purple shirt

Charlie, Tod and a guy who’s name I never got:  Charlie is Crystal’s brother.  With Jorge Dovales, he was in the band Vomit Pop.  Tod and his buddy are dudes I always see at Peacock Room, a joint down the street from Lil Indies.  Plus Tod always helped me with sound at Peacock Room.

Three dudes at a bar table drinking beer

For the most part, I enjoyed myself.  Unlike last time, I played more hip-hop.

Speaking of hip-hop, check out this bar sign.

chimay bar sign

 

Later on, Tod told me to come outside and check out some car.  When I went outside, I recognized it right away, a car with flashing lights I saw in Sanford.

flashing lights car

 

I was happy some of my friends showed.  Sometimes, that don’t happen.  I don’t know when or if I’ll be back at Lil Indies.  Still, I enjoyed the evening.

Explore posts in the same categories: Lil' Indies

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

