Vinyl Music Night XIV

Again, I hosted another Tuesday vinyl music night at Little Fish-Huge Pond, located in Sanford, Florida.

Vinyl Night XIV

Blitz by Various ArtistsBlitz

Released in 1981, the punk/new wave compilation contains two songs by Bow Wow Wow, a group later known for the hit song “I Want Candy”.

In 1987, I bought it at a used record store.  One of my favorites was always the new wave dance jam “Angel Face” by Shock.

Blitz (back cover)

Simon and Garfunkel’s Greatest Hits

Simon and Garfunkel's Greatest Hits

Released in 1972, the folk rock album includes the hit songs “The Sounds of Silence”, “Mrs. Robinson” and “Scarborough Fair”.

Nice album, but I only played Side 1.  The mellow sounds caused the bar’s atmosphere to be too mellow.

The bar owner bought this one.

Hotter Than July by Stevie Wonder

Hotter Than July

Released in 1980, this soul masterpiece contains four hits: “Master Blaster (Jammin’)”, “I Ain’t Gonna Stand for It”, “Lately” and “Happy Birthday”.  “Master Blaster (Jammin’)” is a dedication to reggae legend Bob Marley.  “Happy Birthday” is about Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., whose birthday wasn’t a national holiday yet.

Hotter Than July (back)

By this time, Matt Hughen entered the building with the next record.

M300 by Mandre

Mandre

Released in 1979, the album contains futuristic funk, jazz and disco.  On my first listen, I enjoyed the whole album.

The Family by The Family

The family

Released in 1985, the funky-pop and jazz album contains two hits.  First, “The Screams of Passion”.   For the second hit, I told listeners to wait for it.  Finally, “Nothing Compares 2 U” came on.

“Yes,” I told everyone.  “They sung it first.”

The Family was the first band signed to Prince’s Paisley Park label.  Also, Prince wrote “Nothing Compares 2 U”, a song which later became a hit for Sinead O’ Conner.

Three favorite jams are “High Fashion”, “Mutiny” and “Susannah’s Pajamas”.   Truth be known, “Mutiny” sounds like Prince’s “Controversy”.  Still, I enjoy it.

“Desire” took me back to a time I hadn’t thought about in years, my first date.   Along with a collection of other love songs, I recorded “Desire” on a cassette tape.  I didn’t have a car tape player.  So, I wound up playing the tape on a portable radio resting in the back seat.

When the song came on, my date asked, “Who sings this?”

“The Family,” I said.

The Family back cover

Another Tuesday night awaits.

Explore posts in the same categories: Little Fish Huge Pond, Music, Vinyl Music Night

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

