Vinyl Night XIII

Every Tuesday, I play vinyl records at Little Fish – Huge Pond in Sanford, Florida.

Vinyl Night

Sanford exists a forty-five minute drive from Orlando.

On this night, things started a little late.  Yet, I got the ball rolling eventually.

For this blog, I’m going to do things differently.   When I play the record, I always photographed the album cover.  I always did that with my Canon Rebel.  Recently, I’ve been photographing with my iPhone.  After photographing, I would simultaneously post the photo on Instagram and Facebook.  What you’re going to see on this blog is Instagram photos.

Business as Usual by Men At Work

Business As Usual

In 1981, the pop band’s debut album first released in Australia.  In 1982, the album released in the US.  It contains three hits: “Be Good Johnny”, “Down Under” and “Who Can It Be Now?”

Also, in 1983, the album earned Men At Work a Grammy for Best New Artist.

The bar owner brought this one in.

I noticed the  Spec’s sticker on the album.

spec's

Based in South Florida, Spec’s Music Stores existed throughout the state.  In 1989, I bought tickets from Spec’s for rapper Too $hort’s first concert performance in Orlando.  In 1998, Spec’s closed shop.

The Best of Earth, Wind and Fire, Vol. 1 by Earth, Wind and Fire

Earth, Wind and Fire Vol 1

Released in 1978, the soul compilation contains “Got To Get You Into My Life” and “September”.  Both became hits in 1978.  Also, the album contains previous hits from the past: “Shining Star” and “Sing A Song”.

Janis Joplin’s Greatest Hits by Janis Joplin

Janis Joplin

Released in 1973, the blues-rock album contains the hits “Piece of  My Heart” and “Cry Baby” .

I hesitated playing this one.  A twenty-something crowd was present.  Yet, when “Piece of My Heart” came on, some of them sung the lyrics.

The bar owner brought this album in too.

Zapp II by Zapp

Zapp II

Released in 1982, the funk album contains two recognizable hits: “Dance Floor” and “Doo Wa Ditty (Blow That Thing)”.

From “Dance Floor”, some may recognize the part going “Shake, shake it, baby.”   Roger Troutman from Zapp song that line on rappers 2Pac and Dr. Dre’s “California Love”.

Both hits were on Side 1.  So, that’s why I chose to only played that side.

Gap Band V Jammin’ by The Gap Band

Gap Band VReleased in 1983, the funk album contains two hits: “Jam The Motha” and “Party Train”.  During  regular DJ gigs, I sometimes sneak in “Party Train”.

Well, that was the thirteenth week of vinyl night.  A few more showed this week.  Time to prepare for next Tuesday.

Explore posts in the same categories: Little Fish Huge Pond, Music, Vinyl Music Night

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

