Complimenting A DJ

Last Tuesday, during my vinyl night at Little Fish – Huge Pond, a birthday party happened.

Birthday Party

 

Alex Bains was the birthday girl.

Birthday Party

 

For new readers, Little Fish is located in Sanford, a forty-five minute drive from Orlando.

Not many black women show up during my nights.  Sometimes, it’s more Latinas and white women than Sistas, reason why I’m always happy to see Alex.  At least,  most of the times.  Sometimes, when it comes to song requests, Alex  can be too damned picky and demanding.  Still, the plus outweighs the negative.  Besides, last Christmas, she was the only woman besides relatives who handed me a Christmas card.  The white womenz didn’t give me shit.  Also, Alex tips yours truly, the DJ.

Happy Birthday

 

Because the bar only serves beer and wine, friends took Alex to other bars for a shot.  This worked to my advantage.  No, not that way.  Even a slime bucket like yours truly possess limits.

Alex doesn’t like to be photographed.  Just like with other people I ran across, I knew alcohol was going to change all that.  First, a friend photographed her and me.

Photo by Matthew Hughen

Photo by Matthew Hughen

 

Then, I took two pictures of her holding Prince’s Purple Rain album.  The following photo was her favorite of the two.

Alex and purple rain

When folks decide to specifically have birthday parties on my nights, I consider it a compliment. It means, when they want to have a good time, they trust my skills.   As long as folks  aren’t bossing my ass around all night, I’m cool with it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Complimenting A DJ”


  1. […] I mentioned in the previous blog, Tuesday Night Vinyl happened at Little Fish – Huge […]


Leave a Reply

