Vinyl Night XI

Last Tuesday night, the eleventh vinyl night happened at Little Fish-Huge Pond.

Vinyl

For new readers, Little Fish exists in Sanford, a forty-five minute drive from Orlando.

News of the World by Queen

Queen's News of the World

Released in 1977, this rock classic contains three hits: “We Will Rock You”, “We Are The Champions” and “Spread Your Wings”.

Queen's News of the World

I’m sure everyone recognizes “We Will Rock You”.  They may not know the name of the song.  Yet, they definitely would recognize the stomping and clap beat.

Stomp-stomp! Clap! Stomp-stomp! Clap!

Beverly Hills Cop Soundtrack by Various Artists

Beverly Hills Cop Soundtrack

Released in 1984, the Grammy-winning soundtrack to the same-named movie contains five hits: Patti LaBelle’s “New Attitude” and “Stir It Up”, “The Heat is On” by Glen Fry, “Neutron Dance” by The Pointer Sisters and “Axel F” by Harold Faltermeyer.

Some of the people danced as this album played,especially when “Neutron Dance” played.

I’m just burning doing the Neutron Dance!

Around about this time, someone asked do I take requests.  I don’t mind them.  Yet, I don’t carry many albums with me.  I agreed to play the next upcoming album.

Tracy Chapman by Tracy Chapman

Tracy Chapman

Released in 1988, the debut folk album contains the top ten hit “Fast Car”.

As this album played, the same person who made a request earlier wanted to hear something else.

(With shit like this going on, I just might as well bring in the laptop and play MP3 music.)

I told her to look through the records as I went to the bathroom.

When I came back, the young lady had already switched the Chapman album for an album I played last week.

Ice Cream Castle by The Time

Ice Cream Castle by The TIme

I already wrote about this in a previous blog.

I only played the uptempo songs from it,

When I first started the vinyl nights. I knew sooner or later, someone was going to fuck with my record player.  Also, I knew the person doing that was going to be white.  Why white?  Because I know some people are just that arrogant to think they can fuck with someone else’s shit.  Yet, I wasn’t pissed about this when it finally happened.  Besides, the young lady apologized and later tipped me.

Emergency by Kool and The Gang

Kool and the Gang' Emergency

Released in 1984, the album contains three hits: “Misled”, “Fresh” and “Cherish”.

Because all three hits were on side 1, side 1 was the only side I played.

Romance 1600 by Sheila E

Sheila E Romance 1600

Released in 1985, the album contains the hit  “A Love Bizarre”, a song I still love to this day.

Two of my personal favorites are the title song and “Toy Box”.

At this time, everyone was on a funk groove.  I didn’t want to play the next album.  I wanted to wait for a special night.  Yet, I was running out of soul and funk albums.  So, I played it anyway.

Off The Wall by Michael Jackson

Michael Jackson's Off The Wall

Released in 1979, this funky masterpiece contains four top ten hits: “Don’t Stop ’til You Get Enough”, “Rock With You”, “Off The Wall” and “She’s Out of My Life”.

To this day, I still play songs from this album.

Side 1 is the funkier side.  After playing “Off The Wall” on Side 2, I went to the next album.  One that I played last week,

Conscious Party by Ziggy Marley and The Melody Makers

Ziggy Marley

I wrote about this one in a previous blog also.

I was the only with records tonight.  Yet, I believe other people will bring some in.  Despite some annoying picky people who never appreciate shit, I think most folks enjoy the vinyl nights.

Explore posts in the same categories: Little Fish Huge Pond, Music, Vinyl Music Night

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

