Dear DJ, Why Do Other DJs Still Use Vinyl?

The other day, I advertised my vinyl night on Facebook.

Vinyl Night

Shortly afterwords, I received this message.  (For those that don’t know, my real name is Patrick.)

Why do other Djs sill use vinyl

Does vinyl sound better than MP3?  To some extent, it does.  Vinyl brings out the little things you wouldn’t notice on an MP3.  Yet, I do not miss the sounds of a scratched record or the crackling static you hear between songs.

On vinyl night, I enjoy playing the sounds of older music, which is what mostly gets played anyway.   Also, I enjoy patrons bringing in their records also.  I never heard the Sex Pistol’s Never Mind The Bollocks until Matt Cooper brought in.

Never Mind The Bollocks

When it comes to an album Daft Punk sampled, Matt Hughen brought  in Edward Birdsong’s Edwin Birdsong. (They sampled the song “Cola Bottle Baby”.)

DCIM100MEDIA

One more thing, I didn’t know Iggy Pop sung “China Girl” before David Bowie did.  Yet, a guy named David brought in the album Choice Cuts, a combination of two Iggy Pop albums.

Iggy Pop

Instead of the vinyl night being all about the DJ, i’t’s a night where folks share music with others.

Yet, I’m like Chris in the e-mail, why keep playing vinyl during regular DJ gigs?  Unlike me, this isn’t all about sharing sounds.  These are DJs who use nothing but vinyl  at gigs.  It reminds me of those who prefer film over digital.  True enough, film still owns an advantage over digital.  You can make bigger images off film than you can digital.  Yet, I do not miss having to constantly buy rolls of film.  Plus I don’t miss having to go the photolab just to see what my photos look like.  Without wasting money on film, I can immediately see what my photos look like with the digital camera.

Another thing, don’t hand me that bullshit about songs only being available on vinyl.  Technology exists where records can be turned into MP3s, even Wal-Mart sells it.

So why do some prefer carrying milk crates instead of carrying all the music on a light external memory?

Milk crates are heavy

Just like what I told Chris in the e-mail, some folks are just too damned lazy to update.

If the reader agrees or have a different view point, they are free to answer in the comments section.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Dear DJ, Why Do Other DJs Still Use Vinyl?”

  1. bobby Says:

    its extremely rare to see a Dj using vinyl anymore. If you did happen to see one using vinyl, then most likely this is not because he is lazy, but is more likely to be a gimmick. This pertains to the average mainstream Dj, not the guys/gals who have been playing in the same joints for the past 40 years using the same playlist or playing only a certain genre of music…

  2. David Says:

    That’s like asking an artistic painter, “uh, why are you still using liquid paint, when you can just use the computer? There’s plenty of apps”.

  3. Alex Says:

    I agree that doing a usual set use mp3 that way you have the songs that please the crowd but on a personal note when at home the vinyl feels like I am dj’ing if it aint broke why change. The flip of the vinyl before it goes on the decks. The setting of the needle into the grove. The static at the end of a tune. It aint lazy its passion for what you love and its passion for how you do it. And I also agree with dave about the artist but you still get great art with either digital or paint.


Leave a Reply

