Vinyl Night VIII

Last Tuesday, Vinyl Night VIII happened at Little Fish – Huge Pond.

Vinyl Night VIII

For new readers, Little Fish exists in Sanford, a forty-five minute drive from Orlando, Florida.

The Essential Jimi Hendrix

Vinyl Night VIII: The Essential Jimi Hendrix

Released in 1978, the double album contains most of Jimi’s well-known songs including: “Are You Experienced”, “Purple Haze” and “Voodoo Chile (Slight Return)”.

Brothers in Arms by Dire Straits

Vinyl Night VIII: Brothers in Arms

Released in 1985, the album contains the hits “So Far Away”, “Walk of Life” and “Money for Nothing”.

When I first heard this group, I assumed Dire Straits were US Southern rockers.  At the time, I had no idea they were British.  The mixture of rock and country fooled me.

Stronger Than Pride by Sade

Vinyl Night VIII: Stronger Than Pride

Released in 1988, the album contains the hits “Paradise”, “Nothing Can Come Between Us” and “Turn My Back On You”.  My personal favorite is the funky jam “Keep Looking”.

Vinyl Night VIII: Sade

Back in 2011, I witness a Sade concert, a performance I still hadn’t recovered from.

Songs from the Big Chair by Tears for Fears

Vinyl Night VIII: Songs from the Big Chair

Released in 1985, the album contains the hits “Everybody Wants to Rule the World”, “Shout” and “Heed Over Heels”.

Back in ’86, a guy from the neighborhood gave me this album.  No, he loaned it to me.  Then, he later said I could keep it.

At the time, I played the album constantly.  “Working Hour” was a personal favorite.

When I played it in the bar, my mind flash backed.  In fall ’85, two friends and I were heading to a high school football game.  This was nighttime. As two dudes sat in the front car seat, I sat in the back.  When “Head Over Heels” came on, we started singing the lyrics.

“I wanted to be with you alone/                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       and talk about the weather…”

That was the last album of the evening.  Things picked up earlier and soon died down.  Of course, it happened to be New Year’s Day, a time where business is expected to be slow anyway.

Oh well, on to next week.

Explore posts in the same categories: Little Fish Huge Pond, Music, Vinyl Music Night

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

