Vinyl Night IV at Little Fish

Last night at Little Fish – Huge Pond, I played another round of vinyl on the old record player.

For new readers, Little Fish is located in Sanford, Florida. That’s a forty-five minute drive from Orlando.

The Man by Barry White

Released in 1978, this cool soul and disco mix contains the hit single “Your Sweetness is My Weakness”.  A personal favorite is the disco jam “Look At Her”.

The album also contains a sexy cover version of Billy Joel’s “Just The Way You Are”, which became a UK hit

Simply Red later covered the song “It’s Only Love Doing Its Thing”. The title was shortened to “It’s Only Love.” In Italy, Simply Red’s version reached number one in 1989. Also, 50 Cent’s “21 Questions” contains a sample of Barry White’s version.

I Want You by Marvin Gaye

Released in 1976, the soul and funk album contains the hit singles “I Want You (Vocal)” and “After The Dance”.  In 1991, jazz group Fourplay released a cover of “After The Dance (Vocal)” featuring singer El DeBarge.

My personal favorite on Marvin Gaye’s album is “After The Dance (Instrumental)”.  I play this song during other DJ gigs.

Some folks may recognize the album’s artwork by the late Ernie Barnes. A redesigned version of the album’s art shows during the opening credits of 1970s sitcom Good Times.

Rumours by Fleetwood Mac

Released in 1977, the pop-rock album contains four, definitely, recognizable hits: “Dreams”, “Don’t Stop”, “Go Your Own Way” and “You Make Loving Fun”.

When I played it, a bar patron told me this was one of his favorite albums.

In 2006, house music group Deep Dish remade “Dreams” featuring Stevie Nicks, the songs original writer and singer.

Gap Band IV  by The Gap Band

Released in 1982, this funky mofo contains the hits “Early in the Morning”, “Outstanding” and “You Dropped a Bomb On Me”.

One of my friends always request “Outstanding” during my gigs at Peacock Room in Orlando. On that request, I play an extended version of the song.

Faith by George Michael

Released in 1987, this bad boy contains seven freakin’ hits: “I Want Your Sex”, “Hard Day”, “Faith”, “Father Figure”, “One More Try”, “Monkey” and “Kissing a Fool”.

Truth be known, I played this album as a joke.  I did not expect the positive response I received from it.  One guy related to the days of playing the cassette version over and over.  After the jazzy “Kissing a Fool” ended, one drunk guy clapped.

Listening to it, my mind flashbacked to the reason I bought the album.  “Hard Day” constantly played on the radio as I drove to community college in the mornings.  Liking the song is why I bought the album.

Ready for the World by Ready for the World

Released in 1985, the album contains the funky hits “Digital Display” and “Oh Sheila”.

In a previous blog, I talked about how folks say my high school photo resembles the lead singer.

A personal favorite is “I’m the One Who Loves You”.  I had a mad crush on a girl who rode my school bus.  (She ain’t cute no more.)  Thinking about her, I played this song over and over on my Walkman.

Can’t Slow Down by Lionel Richie

Released in 1983, it contains the hits “All Night Long (All Night)”, “Penny Lover”, “Running with the Night”, “Hello” and the country song “Stuck On You”.

A cool soul album it is.  Yet, I got some personal beef.  I’m a Prince fan. During the 1985 American Music Awards, this album kept beating Prince’s Purple Rain.

As usual, most of my information comes from Wikipedia.

More and more people are beginning to appreciate the vinyl nights.

Yet, here’s something I feel needs expressing.  Many say vinyl sounds better than MP3.  That’s bullshit, nothing but the imagination of nostalgia freaks.  After the huge advancements in digital photography, these types would constantly yap and yap about the beauty of film, even after film becomes obsolete.

Still, despite the scratches and crackles you hear, I still enjoy playing vinyl.

Explore posts in the same categories: Little Fish Huge Pond, Music, Vinyl Music Night

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Vinyl Night IV at Little Fish”


  1. […] vinyl night, I photographed other things besides album […]


  2. […] shitty.  Because I get paid on a percentage of the bar, low sales caused me low pay-outs.  As the vinyl night did make more money than expected, my next DJ gig didn’t do diddly-squat.   Then, during my […]


Leave a Reply

