Vinyl Night at Little Fish

Last Tuesday, after reading prose in Orlando, I drove to Sanford for my DJ gig at Little Fish-Huge Pond.

That night, I spun records on an old stereo system.

David Bowie’s Space Oddity.

Released in 1969, the album’s original name is David Bowie.  Also, it was released under the name Man of Worlds/Man of Music.  Due to the album’s laid-back sound, you can classify this as stoner rock, music to smoke weed to.

Marvin Gaye’s What’s Going On. 

Released in 1971, the album contains the hits “What’s Going On”,  “Mercy, Mercy, Mercy Me (The Ecology)” and “Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)”.  This masterpiece soul album contains songs relating to what was going on at the time: the Vietnam War, protests, drugs, etc.

Queen’s Jazz.

Released in 1978, this rock album contains the songs “Fat Bottomed Girls” and “Bicycle Race”.   As for “Bicycle Race”, it has been said the word “bicycle” is in reference to bi-sexual, the actual lifestyle of late, lead singer Freddie Mercury.  Whatever his lifestyle, “Fat Bottomed Girls” is still one of my favorite songs.

The Jackson’s Triumph.

Released in 1980, this soul classic contains four hits: “Can You Feel It”, “Lovely One”, “This Place Hotel” and “Walk Right Now”.  Instead of the US, “Walk Right Now” actually became a hit in the UK.  The younger folks in the bar really loved this album.

On the back of Triumph, there’s the picture of a peacock.

As writing praises the animal’s colorful feathers, these exotic species are a damned pest here in Florida.  Not only do they love to multiply, they also make loud annoying noises.

Kraftwerk’s Electric Cafe.

Released in 1986, the album contains the electro-jams “Musique Non-Stop” and “The Telephone Call”.

I’ll be honest with  you.  When this album came out, it sounded outdated.  Because break-dancers rocked to it, I always saw Kraftwerk’s music as break-dance music.  So, when this album was released, the break-dance craze had ended.

Still, Electric Cafe  has always been one of my favorite albums.

The album’s working title was actually Techno Pop.  In 2009, it was re-released under that name.

Parliament’s Mothership Connection.

Released in 1975, this album of pure funk contains three well-known songs: “P Funk (Wants to Get Funked Up)”, “Mothership Connection (Star Child)” and “Give Up the Funk (Tear the Roof off the Sucker)”.  Yet, my personal favorite is “Handcuffs”.

Back in the 80s, a white friend gave me this album.  The reason?  Being a rock fan, he told me the album sounded “too black”.

Fred Wesley and the Horny Horns featuring Maceo Parker’s A Blow for Me, a Toot to You.

The last album of the evening, and still rolling on the p-funk vibe.

Released in 1977, the album contains “Up for the Down Stroke”.

The song “Four Play” was released as a single.  Yet, because of its name, it didn’t receive airplay.  As soon as I heard it in the 90s, I recognized it right away as the song Digital Underground’s “Packet Man” sampled from.

I think people enjoyed the funk and soul albums the most.  So, I’ll probably bring more of those in next week.

Most of my record information came from Wikipedia.

Normally, I don’t include photos of my drive home.  Yet, I feel the need to include this photo.

Classic vinyl and a foggy night.  I guess I had a nice evening.

Explore posts in the same categories: Little Fish Huge Pond, Music, Vinyl Music Night

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

