Happy Hour Regulars

Happens every Friday at the Peacock Room in Orlando

Last week’s Friday Happy Hour contained lower attendance than usual.  Not a major annoyance because some patrons are becoming regulars.

For the first two hours, I mix trip hop, down tempo and classic soul.  Right along with Al Green, one hears Portishead.  Just like I figured before hand, the women appreciate the mix more than the dudes.  Some nights, more women than guys attend the Happy Hour event.  Not as if I’m complaining. (A word to douche bags who plan to attend future events: some of the ladies prefer other ladies.)

As I start around 6:30 PM, the attendance shifts around 9. As the early crowd leaves, a new crowd enters, and the newer crowd prefers party music.  Around this time, I shift to hype mode, playing any hype-creating music.  Genre doesn’t matter.  As long as folks are having a good time, I’ll play hip hop, disco, rock, etc.  Just like Morris Day in Purple Rain, I wanna see asses wiggling and titties jiggling. Whatever genre achieves this, I’m playing it.

Between 9:30 and 10, I call it quits …or told the next act in the other room is ready to play.  Some folks don’t like that…especially when the next act is a band.  Despite the many articles on Orlando’s huge music scene, some folks do not care for live music.  Once in awhile, a musician plays during my happy hour set.  Because it’s an early crowd, many folks appreciate it.  Yet, after enjoying my music, it annoys some people of the later crowd when they hear my set being turned off for the next act.

After turning off my music, I speak into the mic.

“See ya next week,” I would say.

Fortunately,  some folks are now taking me up on that.

Explore posts in the same categories: Music, The Peacock Room

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

