Bullshit Happened Back In Our Day Too

I recently saw this posted on Facebook.

 

This young cutie, Akira, posted it.

Understandably, the photo pissed her off.

It’s amazing how nostalgia alters the past. As for the photo referencing NWA, I shall take you back to the days when Dr. Dre and DJ Yella were in The World Class Wrecking Crew.  This was before NWA.  Do these two look like “real niggas”?   They look more like Ready for the World than gangstas.

When it came to rappers wearing perms, East Coast idiots would have you believing it’s a West Coast creation.

Yet, when it comes to Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five, this isn’t the image I remember.

 

I remember the image of dudes rocking jheri curls and straightened hair.

 

Lo and behold, when it comes to dissing bling-bling, some folks forgot about the thick gold chain.

 

It isn’t as if I’m out to start a generation conflict, I am out to show how “Back in the Day” gets twisted. As for past pics of artists, what we see is what was going on during that time period. World Class Wrecking Crew were basically dressing like the typical R and B group from the 80s. Actually, the pic I showed almost happens during the same time of Grandmaster Flash’s second pic I posted.

Do the pics take anything away from the artists real talent? No, they don’t.  Still, when folks use “Back in the Day”, they need to tell the whole story.

I’m picking on hip hop. Let’s pick at rock one time before we go.

When it comes to Pantera, this is the image rock folks remember.

Yet, I wonder how many wanna remember them when they had the pretty boy, hair metal look.

Explore posts in the same categories: Music

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Bullshit Happened Back In Our Day Too”

  1. sisterdot56 Says:

    hi is mornday word be blesset;;;DOT,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,The Lord will fulfill his purpose for me; Your love, O Lord, endures forever — do not abandon the works of Your hands.” Psalm 138:8

    Thoughts on to day

    God has a purpose and plan for each of our lives. The greatest thing we can do is to find that purpose and live it out. We can trust his purpose in us because it is based on his wisdom and love. As long as we seek his will, we’re not going to do anything that can ultimately spoil his purpose in us. Yes, we may at times stray from the perfect channel he wants us to travel, but we never get totally out of the main channel. As long he does not abandon us, (and he promised he never would forsake us he will use us) for his purposes.

    Prayer:

    O Sovereign God, help me discern today what my life is intended to fulfill. Thank you for loving me and promising to walk beside me every step of my life. I live trusting that you will never forsake me. Through Jesus I pray. Amen.


Leave a Reply

