A Laptop DJ Strikes Back Against The Anti-Laptop Dissin’

Mind you, most of last night’s gig, I enjoyed. First, I played some reggae, a genre I rarely play. Then, after everyone watched Lake Monroe’s fireworks, I played old school, even dipping back to 60s soul.  After being asked for some funk, I stayed mostly within the soul/funk genre.

Then, here comes one of a black DJ’s worst nightmares, a hipster white kid.

“Is that all you’re using?” he asked, indicating my laptop.

“Yes,” I answered.

“You’re not DJing. You’re just pushing buttons.”

“People are having a good time, aren’t they?”

Actually, one drunken white woman was being a bitch about my music selection.  If she didn’t like what I was playing, I wished she would have told me what she wanted to hear. And this was a woman who was hitting on me.

“Are you a DJ?” I asked the white kid.

“Yea,” he answered.

“What do you use?”

“Technics.”

For those who aren’t in the know, Technic creates turntables.

“So, you use vinyl?” I asked.

“Yea,” he answered.

“Where’s your gig?”

He wouldn’t answer.

I asked him again. Still, no answer.

His buddy, another white guy, walked up.

“He wouldn’t tell me where his gig is at,” I told his friend.

“Café Da Vince,” the guy answered.

“What night? I want to check him out.”

No answer again.

I learned this from Digital DJ Tips, a website. During your set, when some joker claims to be a DJ, ask them where they DJ.  If you don’t receive a straight answer, the idiot may be a fraud.

Later on, his buddy apologized for his behavior.

“He’s drunk.”

“DJ Technic” reminded me of a flyer I recently created. Fed up with folks dissing laptop DJs, I decided to strike back. I created my own nasty flyer.

Fed up with the dissin’, I created this.

I may be a button pusher. Yet, button pushing is putting money in my pocket. Tomorrow, I gotta handle two gigs in one night.

Oh well, life goes on.

Explore posts in the same categories: DJ Culture, Memes, Music

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “A Laptop DJ Strikes Back Against The Anti-Laptop Dissin’”

  1. andylmoore Says:

    I don’t think one is better than the other, I just think they are different. It’s a different art in my opinion, each with slightly different skills, but both aiming to keep people happy. I was brought up using vinyl, DJd in Hong Kong for a while and have recently sold my decks and records (boo hoo).

  2. Kevin Says:

    If you’re killin it, you’re killin it. I can’t see a difference in the end, sweat and smiles are what they are.

  3. Push Says:

    Great post. The music and how it is put together, the interaction with the crowd and response to the vibe overall is the “art” of the DJ. The specific paintbrush he chooses to produce that art doesn’t matter. To quote the Beastie Boys, “If you can feel what I’m feelin’ it’s a musical masterpiece, if you can hear what I’m feeling, well that’s cool at least…” That “feeling” being conveyed has little to do with the medium.


Leave a Reply

