A DJ Reality

As I write this, understand I’m not asking for sympathy.  I only write this to show the realities a DJ goes through.  One of the recent realities?  Things have sucked.

My friend, Jay Marley.

Sanford nights that once attracted a following have gone to shit. I don’t know what the fuck happened.  The only thing I can think of is people preferring a full liquor bar over a bar just serving beer and wine.  The beer and wine joint is where I DJ.

Also, I heard some people blamed me. In the beginning, I used to go online to YouTube and Grooveshark and play requests.  I no longer do that because my laptop kept freezing.  Plus after searching for many requests, very few people actually tipped.  Another thing, because I played every request, people picked songs that ruined an already happy mood.  Later on, going online came back to haunt me. Pissed about how I mentioned him in a blog, some dude called me just a jukebox with a face and a DJ in name only. After experiences like that, the really intelligent would understand why I stopped going online and stopped playing every request.

I refuse beleiving I am the problem. If that was the case, why am I still offered gigs at other spot?

An Orlando friend blamed the town itself.  Before the Trayvon Martin situation, many Central Floridians always saw Sanford as a redneck town.  After Sanford police didn’t arrest half-white, half-Hispanic, George Zimmerman for killing the unarmed, 17 year old, black male, it only reinforced stereotypes many locals already owned against Sanford.  Locals like my Orlando friend.

“Come on, man, it’s Sanford,” he would always say after I mention the ups and downs of my gigs.

Also, when I tell Orlando people I DJ in Sanford, I would sometimes receive funny looks.  One dude even asked me why.

If the slow nights aren’t bad enough, my laptop’s fucking up cost me to lose three gigs.  Right now, I’m using a laptop loaned to me.

Frustrating? Hell yes. But I ain’t giving up.

Oh yea, recently, the Sanford police chief got fired.  Hip-hop hooray!

Explore posts in the same categories: DJ Culture, Music

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “A DJ Reality”


  1. Being dj and using some dj mixer is not that so easy thing to do,as an dj also i remember when i was starting to use a dj mixer i can even play a request for me i also did what your doing.Anyway good luck always just be creative to the sounds you here.


Leave a Reply

