A Cover Band’s Lesson

Last Friday, The Peacock Room handed me a memorable experience. That night, I DJed in between band sets. Recently, my gigs happened in the bar area. There, at a table, I perform my mixes.

Tonight, a local DJ borrowed the PA system for a wedding gig, an incident forcing me to DJ behind the bar counter. If vinyl was my weapon of choice, I wouldn’t have been able to hook-up to the stereo system behind the bar.  Using two turntables and a mixer would have cost me a gig. Good thing I use a laptop.

The first band played 80s and 90s rock music.  One song was Lenny Kravitz’s “Are You Gonna Go My Way”.

Lenny Kravitz

Outside the bar, I said this to my buddy Brett J. Bar, “If black people can’t perform your music, white people can’t perform Lenny Kravitz.”

Bret and a friend of his laughed.

The next band played original songs and cover songs.  One song I recognized as Jimi Hendrix’s.  I forgot which one.

Trans Am was the last and final band. A friend of mine was dating the guitarist. These dudes looked between ages 35 to 50. Also, I think I’ve seen the singer around Central Florida since the 90s.

Like the first band, they performed rock covers including Ratt’s “Round and Round”.   At the end of their set, they threw me for a loop. Catering to the women, they performed Prince’s “Purple Rain”. You read me right. After playing songs and songs of rock-n-roll, the played Prince.

Actually, Prince is rock. Yet, you can’t convince this to rock stations who won’t play the man. But they’ll play a white rock band who covers his music.

Trans Am reinforced a lesson I read before. When people expect you to lean one way, throw the loop on them.  Trans Am could’ve ended the night with a white group‘s hard rock song, which would have been expected. Yet, they closed their set with Prince, something the whole bar appreciated.

Explore posts in the same categories: Music

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “A Cover Band’s Lesson”

  1. Eric Brooks Says:

    That must have been cool to end it with that song.
    One thing I always loved about Prince… he refused to be defined.

  2. DD Worth Says:

    Worked in radio. Our format was adult based classic rock n roll. I kept sneaking in Prince. The PM said Prince was “pop”. I kept on sneaking his music. One day, to my surprise, all Prince was removed. I saw the Trans Ams perform Purple Rain and it is unexpected and phenomenal. Awesome cover band. Better show than the most famous bands.


Leave a Reply

