Cheap Drinkin’ Hipsters

Two Saturdays ago, I played an 80s set at SIP Orlando. Despite the small crowds, I always have a good time. One time, as I played Real Life’s “Send Me An Angel”, some dude did some kind of choreographed dancing . Tonight was my third time playing here.

Among tonight’s small crowd, five twenty-somethings sat at a table, three white guys and two white females. They weren’t very friendly. As I raised my beer in greetings to them, they didn’t respond. Yet, they seemed to enjoy the likes of Prince and Ricky Astley.

Rick Astley

Towards the end of the night, I noticed one of the young guys handing another one money. Then, that guy put the money in his pocket and walked up to me.

“What’s up, buddy?” I asked.

“Playing some eighties music?“ he asked in a friendly tone.

“Yep.”

“You have any house?”

He mentioned a name I didn’t catch at first.

“Who?” I asked. “I can play house but it has to be eighties house.”

The guy then walked away.

At his table, I noticed him handing money back to his friend. At first, I thought this was tip money for me. Now, I realize it may have been payment to get me to change the music.

After looking at their drinks, I walked over to the bartender.

Nodding my head towards the twenty-somethings, I said to the bartender,” I bet they bought the cheapest drinks all night.”

“They’re broke,” said the bartender. “They don’t have any money.”

“They were trying to get me to play some modern house music.”

I forgot what the bartender said. Yet, as a dude who loved eighties music himself, he definitely didn’t like what I told him.

How did I know they were buying cheap drinks? Past experience. Cheap drinkers own the nasty habit of trying to control the night for themselves.

I later realized who the kid was asking for, Swedish DJ Avicii. Any other time, I would have played him. Yet, because this was a theme night, I wasn’t changing jack shit…especially for cheap drinkers.

Don’t get it twisted, this isn’t a race or generation issue. I just find broke hipsters annoying, big on the ordering around but small on the money.

Next Saturday, I do another 80s night at SIP. Slowly, the night is drawing more and more people. Seeing some folks anticipation for the night, it might draw even more. If not, that’s okay. I’ll still have fun.

Explore posts in the same categories: Sip

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

