“Bitches” and Nasty Rap Music

The Peacock Room DJ gig happened the day after St. Patrick’s Day. After folks partying heavy on a Saturday night, expecting a huge turn-out on a Sunday would have been unrealistic, even if it was my birthday.

One of the first people to arrive was Keith.

He normally attends my gigs in Sanford.  Tonight, I was in Orlando.  Just for my birthday, Keith took the forty to forty-five minute drive to get here.

Another early person was Mindy, one of the most nicest people I ever met.

She offered to help me setting up my equipment.  Yet, I really didn’t need it.

I started out with mostly soul music, 80’s and 90’s.  Then, I shifted more into hip-hop.

As the night went on, I kept photographing.

As I played Geto Boys’ “Damn, It Feels Good To Be A Gangsta.”   Four thirty-something dudes began came to the room where I DJed and began dancing.  All four were white. For some reason, one kept throwing paper napkins on the floor.

They were nice, tho.  One bought me a Guiness and Napkin Man tipped me five dollars as I played all his 90’s hip-hop requests.

“Can you play ‘Rack City” by Tyga?” Napkin Man asked.  “We’re with some bitches and they don’t know about the music you’re playing. They want to hear ‘Rack City’.”

As I played the song, the “bitches” did come to the room.  Yet, they ignored Napkin Man and his friends.

Napkin Man and his crew left.

I guess the “bitches” weren’t with them.

There were two groups of women. Another group did want to hear the old school I was playing.  So, I went back to that, too.  As long people are having fun, I don’t give a fuck.

Of course, I kept photographing.

Something I recently learned about women and nasty rap lyrics.  They love it just as much as the dudes.  Yet, they hate music that calls them a bitch or a ho.  I can understand that.  I’ll just watch it with the Too Short Music.

Me in the middle. Jessica Pawli on the left. Victoria Rosario on the right.

Explore posts in the same categories: The Peacock Room

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

