Ladies Night: Portishead Verus Chingy

As you can see in the following pic, women predominated last night’s DJ gig at Little Fish-Huge Pond.

Every Tuesday as I spin chill music, drink specials are held for the ladies.

As I enjoyed the night, a mild conflict over music started.  In the past, I played chill music all night.  Yet, that shit got boring. I can tolerate Portishead and jazz-influenced, instrumental, funk for only about two hours.  After that, I prefer playing dance music including hip hop.  After my chill set, I did just that, began playing dance music.  As one group of young ladies requested Chingy and Dev, another woman preferred me to continue playing Porishead.

Portishead

As I tried mixing  all the requests, Portishead Woman still got upset.  What finally got her goat was me fulfilling a dubstep request.

“I love you,” she started. “But please don’t play any more dubstep.”

Seeing the carrying on over  dubstep inspires me to keep playing it, just because I know it pisses some folks off. It’s like playing BG’s Bling-Bling because the song pisses off hip hop purists.  You know the type, always saying what’s real hip hop and what isn’t.

Yet, I didn’t play anymore dubstep that night. Truth be known, I can only tolerate one or two dubstep songs at a time.

As the mild music conflict happened, a Republican white woman was in our midst.  On the big, flat screen, television located behind the bar, President Obama had just finished his Union Address, one that made me glad I voted for him.

I couldn’t hear exactly what Moire, the bar’s owner, said. Yet, it rubbed Republican Woman the wrong way. Immediately she made it known what party she supported.

As I continued playing music, Republican Woman kept complimenting my music choices.  I wasn’t surprised. For some damned reason, I always attract Republican white women. And I don’t even approach them. They usually approach me.

Also, I noticed Republican Woman looked like a recently, deceased friend. A nasty chill ran over me. My deceased friend definitely wasn’t a Republican.

At another place, I witnessed a ladies night backfiring. Most of the women preferred clit over dick. As  lesbians do attend my nights, they never predominated.

I’m looking forward to next week.  Who knows.  Maybe, dudes will predominate. As long as folks are having a good time, I really don’t give a shit.

Explore posts in the same categories: Music, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

