Young Folks Requesting Old School Classics

Last night, more people than usual showed up at my Wednesday DJ gig.  Someone told me a band played earlier at another spot, a spot I think closes around ten.  And that explained the influx of the twenty-something white crowd.

Old School!!!

As they entered, I played 80s rhythm and blues.  Then, I shifted to current music.  Yet, a twenty-something female requested Michael Jackson’s “Off The Wall”, a song released before her birth.

After two more old school jams, I shifted back to current hits again.  Then, some dude requested Egyptian Lover, more old school.  Another guy requested Rick James’ “Mary Jane.”

Don’t get me wrong.  When I played the current likes of Katy Perry and Selena Gomez, young women sang and danced to it.  Also people seemed to enjoy my playing The Bloody Beetroots.

Guess what did turn a younger person off?  And this was the guy asking for Egyptian Lover. I played a dubstep song in all it’s wobbling bass glory.

Egyptian Lover

When I saw the guy’s face turn sour, I smiled and shrugged at him.

“I know,” he said.  “It’s the latest trend.”

Most of the crowd left around 1.

Like me, many wouldn’t imagine twenty-something’s requesting music older than them, especially music almost two decades older. Yet, with me, they request it all the time.  I don’t mind.  As long they’re happy, who gives a fuck?

Explore posts in the same categories: Little Fish Huge Pond, Music

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Young Folks Requesting Old School Classics”


Leave a Reply

