Offensive Scribbling

Before heading to last Friday’s DJ gig at Little Fish, I read poetry at Twelve21 Gallery, an Orlando spot.  The reading was for The Scribble Party, an event hosted by Elton Bracey.  Here’s what I wrote.

1997: Reading an offensive scribbling at a Barnie’s in Orlando. Not only did folks complain to staff, someone also called the police on me

Sometimes I scribble in bars
especially when I’m boozing.
Pen and paper all I need.
Sometimes have to borrow a pen.
As for paper?
A napkin is fine.

Created some of my finest masterpieces.
People still talk about them.

I even scribble in fast food restaurants.
The muse don’t discriminate.

Rarely do I scribble in coffee houses.
People want to talk all the time.
Mostly about themselves
and how my scribbling offends them.
(Like I really care.)

Going to the bar tonight.
Might bring a pen with me.
You never know.
My scribbling might piss-off
another pretentious asshole.


Explore posts in the same categories: poetry

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

