The Boozin’ Birthday Bus

Last March, folks celebrated Paul Hiebing’s 30th birthday.   I met Paul through my Orlando poetry friends, a group I rarely see these days.  Yet, this night I rode the Shipyard Beer Bomb Bus with them, a bus that traveled through various spots of Central Florida.

On this tour, everyone gets a free beer at each stop.   At one stop, we’re served food.

This was going to be a video, the reason why I relied more  on my video camera’s photo setting versus using my real camera.  Oh well, I’m happy with the results.

First, everyone met at Colonial Lanes, a bowling alley located in Orlando.   In the following pic, that’s Paul wearing the hat.

Then, we went on the bus.

On the bus, as Casey demonstrates in the photo, we drunk draft booze.   The booze was courtesy of Shipyard Brewery.

After a 45 minute ride, we landed at  The Sanford Wine Company, located in Sanford, Florida.

Inside, an acoustic guitarist performed.

The back patio was our real destination.

Ken and Kelly FitzPatrick:  Ken is part owner of The Sanford Wine Company.  Kelly covers the night scene for the Orlando Sentinel.  Casey, the guy in the second pic of this blog, is her husband.

After an hour (I think), we got back on the bus.


After about 30 minutes, we landed in Deland.  Our Destination?  The Abbey.

Kelly was talking to these two.   As I walked up to them, the dude on the left recognized me from Orlando.  He knew my friend Swamburger, local rap legend.

Outside, I decided to photograph the local color.

Tod Caviness and I:  Tod writes for the Orlando Sentinel, too.   After my stepping down, he took over the poetry reading I used to host.   Also, Orlando Weekly’s readers’ choice named him Orlando’s number one spoken-word artist.

When folks take pictures of me, I usually give them credit.  I forgot who took my photos this night.

Eventually, we had to board the bus again.

Back to Orlando we went.  A long trip it was, too.

Redlight Redlight was our last destination.

Afterwards, the bus drove us back to Colonial Lanes, our starting point.

Like I mentioned earlier, I rarely see this group like I used to.  Schedule conflicts cause this.   Still, it’s always nice when I do see them.

Explore posts in the same categories: Night Life

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “The Boozin’ Birthday Bus”

  1. Max Says:

    You’re a champ Pat.


  2. That was a great night! Thanks for sharing Patrick!


  3. Always great to see you too! It’s been waaay too long now…


  4. Looks like it was a great party :))


Leave a Reply

