East Coast Versus West Coast Hip-Hop Still Lives

One night, during a DJ gig, I cruised into 90s hip-hop, a genre I would play all night if I could.  As Tupac and Dr. Dre’s “California Love” played, some dude took it upon himself to pass around a poll: Should the DJ play East Coast or West Coast hip-hop?  The verdict was East Coast.  Of course, the poll taker was from the East Coast.   And what did I play next?  Dirty South.

On YouTube, I saw this under Tim Dawg's "Fuck Compton", a song released in 1991.

Surprisingly, the East Coast versus West Coast foolishness still exists.   On some YouTube rap videos,  one would see this nonsense in the comments sections.

I think what annoyed me the most was dude pulling this crap in a  Down South bar.  That’s like me, a Southerner, telling a New York bar to play nothing but Dirty South music.   Of course, I would expect a beat down for it.

Another thing annoyed me about this.  From what I was told, East Coast dude was a DJ also. Djs trying to control another DJ’s night irritates the hell out of me.  I find it rude and disrespectful.   I wonder if East Coast dude liked me pulling that same foolishness during HIS gigs.

Because I talked to him in the past, I like East Coast dude.   Yet, that crap he pulled was uncalled for.

I don’t care where the music comes from.  If it gets the women dancing, I’m playing it.

Explore posts in the same categories: DJ Culture, Music

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

