Rockin’ An Eighties Hair Metal Party

About two weeks ago, I DJed an eighties metal party.   The previous night, Motley Crue performed in Tampa, a two hour drive away from the bar.  So, tonight’s party was intended for those who missed the concert.

Truth be known, this was somewhat out of my comfort zone.   When it comes to spinning one genre all night,  hip-hop would my strong point.   But eighties metal?  And with me being one of three blacks in the place?  Out of my comfort zone but I loved the challenge.

My only complaint involved dudes asking for thrash and punk metal all night.  Again, in order to please everyone, I had to mix the music. Cannibal Corpse mixed in between Twisted Sister and Quiet Riot.   Also, some of the requested music wasn’t even eighties.  In one episode, the bar owner’s son thought it cute to request a current metal group.

Yet, I pulled it off.

Now, I’ll share some photos with you.

Sunny and Candace.  Sunny is the one dressed in metal gear.

Ed.  Impressed with my metal collection, he was a hardcore Iron Maiden fan.

I forget this guy’s name.   Yet, he’s always spinning on top of a bar stool.

Boston Mike and Autumn.   Mike operates a local motorcycle shop.

Hollywood.   I could be wrong.  Yet, I think he was going for the Cheap Trick look.

Kat and friend.  The evening’s host, Kat is the one on the right.

After all the thrash and punk metal, I livened things up with Poison and Van Halen, inspiring Red and Autumn to dance on top of a table.

This was the first time I saw a hula hoop with lights on it.


Matt and Lisa.  Matt tipped with a Pabst Blue Ribbon.  At least, he tipped.

Another couple.  I didn’t get the names.  Yet, the dude’s wardrobe was one of the evening’s highlights.   That is an authentic Members Only jacket he’s wearing, a throwback from the eighties.

Explore posts in the same categories: Little Fish Huge Pond, Music

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Rockin’ An Eighties Hair Metal Party”


  1. […] Rockin’ An Eighties Hair Metal Party: I DJed 80s rock all night. This blog also contains photos of that […]


Leave a Reply

