Mr. Nocturnal

I am writing this very blog at 4 AM Eastern Time.  For years, I have always had problems sleeping at night.  Sometimes, no matter what, I just can’t do it.  Even if I managed to fall asleep at around 10 PM, I wake up around 12 AM and won’t fall asleep until five.


Last Saturday night, a friend and I did some last minute boozing.   Afterwards, I dropped him off at his home.

 
Next, I drove to a local Checkers. In the drive-thru, I ordered two cheeseburgers and a cup of water.  Due to unflattering weight gain, I’m trying to cut down on sodas.

 
Because Checkers don’t have an inside dining area, I decided to eat my meal at one of the circle concrete tables located on the property.  As I ate my meal, I thought about an online article I read, something featuring  Vj Taboo.  I remembered  Taboo mentioning something about DJs being nocturnal.


As I breathed in the night air and looked at my surroundings, the word “nocturnal”  remained stuck on my mind.  It kept making itself known as I looked at the cars passing under the highway’s streetlights.

 
“That ought to be a DJ name,” I told myself. “Mr. Nocturnal.”

 
The next day, I looked the word up online.  I learned my sleepless nights is normal for some people.  We stay up late and sleep late in the morning.  I learned people like me do our best work in the evening time.  I also read that intelligent folks tend to be nocturnal.  I ain’t going to agree or disagree with that statement.  I’ll leave that one alone.

 
Insomnia and nocturnal are two different things.  Insomnia is temporary and can be cured.  Nocturnal behavior can’t be cured.  You’re stuck with it.  I’m not going to complain.  I like the nighttime.   It’s peaceful.


Right now, it’s 4:45 Eastern Time.  In another hour, the few light sprinkles of dawn begins.

 
I think DJing woke-up my natural cycle.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: DJ Culture, Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Mr. Nocturnal”

  1. Stinson Says:

    It’s 3:30 AM eastern time, rock on brother of the night.


Leave a Reply

