Booze, Babes and Bar Fighting

Last night, I DJed Broke-Ass Fridays, a monthly event happening the first Friday of the month. The first of the month is rent and mortgage time, the time many people wind up broke. Thus the name Broke-Ass Fridays.

A happy patron at Broke-Ass Firdays.

On this night, it’s ten dollar all you can drink PBR draft.

A few folks were already in the bar as I began setting up. Mostly the over thirty crowd.

After setting up, more and more people entered.

I played a mixture of 70s, 80s and 90s music, and that contained a mix of pop, soul and rock.

Soon, someone started requesting modern rock. Due to constant rock requests during my past gigs, I had to rearrange my mix. Too much rock music runs patrons out of the bar, especially the aggressive kind containing the lead singer growling the lyrics. They sound somewhat like this: Rrraagge! Angerrrr! The Beeasst must diiiee!

That’s why I mix funkier music in between rock requests, to keep patrons from leaving. And folks have thanked me for it.

Around 10:30, I attempted a trivia game. By this time, the bar was packed. After I read a question off my laptop, whoever answered first got a prize, mostly stickers from a local radio station.

After the trivia game, people began leaving. And that didn‘t surprise me. I have seen this in other bars. You have both your before 12AM crowd and your after 12AM crowd. Before 12AM, things go dead temporarily.

By this time, the rage-anger-die requests started., which pissed off some patrons…even the white folks.

“What’s with this death metal shit?!”

Because the rage-anger-die people tipped, I couldn’t complain too loud about the music. Also, not many people was in the bar anyway. Still, I mixed funkier music in between the rage-anger-die requests.

After 12AM, just like I guessed, the bar began filling up again. Many of the rage-anger-die folks had already gone home.

As I grooved the atmosphere, a fight broke out. A Latin guy slammed a black guy against my equipment. The Latin guy was my buddy Chris. The black guy was a known troublemaker named Thaddeus. (Thaddeus is a known gay too.)

“Who’s gonna kill Mo?!” Chris yelled at Thaddeus.

Folks was holding Chris back as I attempted getting in between.

“Who’s gonna kill Mo?!” Chris yelled again.

Mo is the owner of the bar.

“I don’t know what you’re talking about,” Thaddeus said.

He then got up and left the bar.

Later, folks told me Thaddeus posted nasty comments on FaceBook about killing Mo and burning the bar down. This after previous trouble he caused at the bar.

A young lady helped me put my equipment back together. Nothing got broke.

As she helped me, some nutcase attempted hitting on her.

“Don’t you see she’s working, man?” I told him.

The one on the left helped me put my equipment back together.

I pumped jams from all genres. I even dipped into sixties soul. Fuck trying to represent what makes real music. I didn’t care if it was a shitty pop song. If I felt it made women shake booty or caused a drunken sing-a-long, I played it.

As usual, after all the boozing and beats, the good time quickly ended. The last song was Garth Brooks “Friends In Low Places”, one of few country songs that I actually like.

Because of the good time I had, I can’t wait for next month.

Explore posts in the same categories: DJ Culture, Little Fish Huge Pond, Music

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

