The Yuppie Reggae Experts

At the moment, I was in a groove.  Folks seemed to enjoy the music I was playing, my mixture of jazz, trip-hop and funk instrumentals.

Then, some young  yuppie woman requested reggae music.  I felt like choking her ass.  People asking me to change genres irritates the hell out of me…especially when no one else complained about my music.  For one, like the bar’s owner once said, it’s nothing more than someone trying to control the night for themselves.  Number two, asking me to change genres hurts my sensitive feelings.  I get the impression genre changers are insinuating I’m not playing the “proper” music.  In other words, my DJ skills suck.

Everybody knows Shaggy. Even folks who aren't hardcore reggae fans, folks like me.

The yuppie woman sat with other yuppies at a table.

My friend DJ Spank stood behind me.

Fed up, I decided to play a joke on the yuppies.  For one thing, genre changers rarely know about the music they request.  One night, some young woman asked me to spin the upbeat Motown music I was playing earlier. Yet, I wasn’t playing Motown music earlier.  It was early to mid-seventies funk and soul, but no Motown.

With that in mind, I played Top 40 reggae…and the yuppies loved it.  They loudly sung the lyrics to the songs playing: “Red Red Wine” by UB40, “Boombastic” by Shaggy, “Roxanne” by The Police.

One yuppie dude declared I was the man.

Spank and I laughed at them.  It was just so predictable.  I had a feeling the reggae they wanted to hear was the stuff just about everyone knew.  Now, if someone had requested Sizzla, an artist known by hardcore reggae fans, I would have taken the yuppies seriously.  (Truth be known, some hardcore reggae fans may call me a fraud for picking Sizzla.)

After five reggae songs, I moved into seventies funk and soul.

For my troubles, the yuppies placed a huge, gigantic tip in my tip jar: a whole two dollars.

The moral of this story?  Don’t go asking the DJ to change genres.  He or she hates that shit.  Pull that me with me and I’m going to make a fool out of you.

Explore posts in the same categories: DJ Culture, Little Fish Huge Pond, Music

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “The Yuppie Reggae Experts”

  1. Michael Says:

    should have played some Wailing Souls…..one of the very best bands I saw in my career as a buyer


Leave a Reply

