The Hip-Hop Jackass

RH33D7ZZX6ZZ

Twice a week, I deejay at Little Fish, Huge Pond, a small artist bar located in Sanford, Florida.  Sanford exists a thirty minute drive north-east of Orlando.

Tuesday nights, folks generally request dance and hip hop music.  As hip hop lyrics yell the n-word, I’m usually the only black dude in the place.

Wednesday nights , a mostly rock crowd shows.   Again, sometimes I am the only black dude in the place.

Being an open-minded deejay,  I usually cater to most requests.  Especially when I receive tips or see the sexy ladies shake some booty.

On a Wednesday night,  I was playing the requested rock music.  I notice  a Latino walking in with two ladies.  The Latino looked to a be hipped guy around his mid-twenties.  He wore a white tank top and brown and white plaid shorts.  One lady friend looked to be a young white girl around the Latino’s age and the other looked to be a Latina in her mid-thirties.   The two ladies sat at the bar counter.

I nodded my head to the Latino in greetings, a big fuckin’ mistake.  Immediately, he walked up to me and gives me the soul brother shake.

“You gonna play some hip hop?” he asked.

“Yea, I’ll play some,” I said.

I don’t play requests right away.  Doing that only invites some people to transform into control freaks.  Even when folks give me a whole list of songs to play, I don’t play them all together at one time.   I make people wait.  If they can’t take it, the hell with them.

After two more rock songs, the Latino walks up to me again.

“Play some hip hop,” he went.  “You’re putting me to sleep.”

“This is what they want to hear, bro,” I answer.

“Yea, but hip hop boosts the crowd.  I used to be a deejay too.”

“Write down your request and I’ll play a hip-hop set.”

After looking at his request, I lost all my respect for him.  The requested song?   “No Love” by Eminem and Lil Wayne.  Lil Wayne I can let slide.  But Eminem?  That’s a different story.  I am sick and tired of hearing about Eminem.  The only people who requests Eminem are usually those who don’t know much about hip hop.  Even some diehard, white, hip hop fans don’t ask for Eminem.  I suspected the Latino to be a fraud.

After three more rock songs, I went hip hop.  After playing his requested song, the Latino did what many impatient folks do after I finally play their song.  With his two lady friends, the Latino left the bar.

This is another reason why I make people wait for songs.  As I soon as I play their requested song or genre, many people leave.  Also, these types ignore the deejay tip jar.

Like I said before, I’m an open-minded deejay.  Still, I don’t appreciate USED TO BE deejays telling me how to run my night.  Makes you wonder they aren’t deejaying anymore.

Explore posts in the same categories: Little Fish Huge Pond

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “The Hip-Hop Jackass”

  1. Michael Says:

    Stone….just paying my respects to one of my favorite writers….can’t wait to see where you take this blog to….

    Michael

  2. giggles Says:

    i leave a good dj alone and let them do what they do… i went out last night to a new spot around here…… and this dj tried too hard to give all what they wanted.. he was not good at all and he did not keep people on the floor…… and they wanted to dance but his attempts at mixing made the music too unpredictable to relax and flow too…. it was weird….

    i think it is cool that you are doing this… and having fun with it🙂

  3. Max Says:

    I dig the new blog mate, nice one.

  4. nuerz Says:

    LIL Wayne over Em smh…

    • stonecrazydj Says:

      Read my overrated white musicians blog.

      • nujerz Says:

        I agree Em is overrated…but imo he still a better MC lyrically than Wayne and if anything there collabs prove Em is nicer than Wayne who is just as overrated in his own right (Best Rapper Alive) smh


Leave a Reply

