Phat-N-Jazzy’s Funky 45 Edition

Last Friday, after my happy hour gig at The Peacock Room, I stayed around for Phat-N-Jazzy’s Funky 45 Edition.

All night, both DJ Le Spam and DJ BMF played 45s, named because the small records were played at 45 rounds per minute.  Most of the music played that night was old school funk, soul and Latin.

DJ BMF: Phat-N-Jazzy’s main DJ.

Phat-N-Jazzy has been around since the mid-nineties.   I remember when it existed at what is now called Independent Bar.  Then, for years, Phat-N-Jazzy happened every Tuesday night at The Social.  Now, it happens in different spots around Orlando.

DJ Le Spam: Member and producer of Spam Allstars, a Miami electric/Latin funk band.

In the middle is Mayra, DJ BMF’s wife.

Keith Gregson: longtime friend and the printer of my flyers.

Anthony Bonilla:  He mostly runs a hot dog stand.  Yet, I remember him mostly as DJ Bonilla.  When I became a DJ, Anthony became my mentor.

DJ BMF told me the difficulties of transitioning  from one 45 to the other.  Unlike the  twelve inch record, before you know it, the 45 record’s song is almost over.  As I danced and enjoyed the music, I couldn’t tell it.  I had that good of a time.

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 347 other followers

